Search
Enter Keywords:
Home
An Email Lottery Scam Revealed PDF Print E-mail
User Rating: / 1
PoorBest 
Written by Michael Salsbury   
Tuesday, 25 April 2006

Ah, those spammers and scammers never give up, do they?  I just got another scam email today telling me I'd won 300,000 euros in a lottery of Internet users.  Here's the letter:

 

FROM: MR.MARK PINTO, ' '
Date: Tue, Apr 25, 2006 5:16 am

FROM: MR.MARK PINTO,

E.U LOTTERY ONLINE.
LOTTERY AND GAMING
CORPORATION,

MONTH OF APRIL LOTTERY,

WINNING NUMBER: FLO-06315369

DEAR WINNER,

YOU WON THE SUM OF (THREE HUNDRED THOUSAND EUROS) FROM E.
U LOTTERY AND GAMING CORPORATION. THE WINNING TICKET WAS SELECTED FROM
A DATA BASE OF INTERNET E-MAIL USERS, WHICH YOUR E-MAIL ADDRESS WAS ONE
OF THE WINNER OF THE PRIZE AMOUNT,

WE THEREBY CONTACT YOU TO CLAIM
YOUR WINNING AMOUNT QUICKLY AS THIS IS A MONTHLY LOTTERY. FAILURE TO
CLAIM YOUR WIN WILL RESULT INTO THE REVERSION OF THE WINNING SUM TO OUR
FOLLOWING MONTH LOTTERY. PLEASE CONTACT OUR APPROVED AGENT FOR THE
CLAIM AND TRANSFER OF YOUR WINNING PRIZE TO YOUR NOMINATED ACCOUNT.

E.
U LOTTERY ONLINE AGENCY.
MISS. LILLIAN MORGAN.
DIRECTOR OF WINNING
CLAIMS DEPARTMENT.
TEL: 31-623-868-256
Fax- +31-84-757-0390
Email:


REGARDS,
MR. MARK PINTO.
DIRECTOR OF E.
U LOTTERY ONLINE.

 If you're not looking at this and already saying to yourself that this is obviously a scam, let's take a closer look at it, shall we?  Here's what we see in a very cursory scan:

  • As is typical of spam and scam emails, the return address on this message (" ") doesn't match up to the address they want me to use to contact them (" ").  The address they want me to use is a free Netscape email address, which seems very dubious for any kind of business to use to contact someone.

  • Next, this thing is done almost entirely in capital letters. I've never received a professional email that is all caps, so that makes me pretty suspicious of this already.  The line breaks are also in weird places, which looks highly unprofessional.

  • A quick Google search of "Mr. Mark Pinto" shows that a LOT of people have gotten these emails, word for word.  If this is really a lottery, you'd think there wouldn't be that many winners out there.

  • A Google search of the " " address turns up that this is an address blacklisted by anti-Spam software.  This, by itself, should be reason enough for you to doubt that the message is genuine.

  • Then, of course, there's the question "If this is a real lottery, what is this company getting from me?"  For instance, you play your state lottery, your state got money from you in exchange for a chance to win more money.  In a contest sponsored by a major corporation, you've usually had to look at advertising, agree to receive some promotional email, watch a video, etc., to be entered.  These guys are claiming you won simply because you're an Internet user.  Does that seem even remotely likely?

  • Last, but not least, I looked up "www.virgilo.it", the site where our Mr. Pinto's return address is allegedly located.  It's an Internet portal site, in Italian, which looks to me like another free email provider.  If this contest collects enough money to be able to give out 300,000 euros a month, you'd think they could afford their own email server so that they and their agents could use a REAL return address.
Any one of the above signals ought to be enough to tell us this is a scam.  Together, they should be setting off loud sirens and flashing lights in our head saying "STEER CLEAR!"

Related Blogs:

Last Updated ( Wednesday, 26 April 2006 )
< Previous   Next >

Main Menu
Home
Blog
Photos
Links
Search
Site Index
Feedback
Administrator
Featured Links
BlogInspiration
SpamToons
Shawn Prince's Blog
Jack Ludwig's Blog
Mike Cramer's Site
Fark
Slashdot
Woot!
Cigar Envy
John Kricfalusi's Blog
CigarBlog 101
Cigars 101 Forum
Sponsored Links


View Site Stats